Chardham Temples Committee

Home » Chardham Temples Committee

Chardham YatraShri Badri – Kedar Mandir Samiti is a registered compact and organized structure actively involved in preservation, conservation, growth, developments and Promotion of Badrinath, Kedarnath and others temples and tourist places covered by Badri-kedar Mandir Samiti. Besides these Temple Committee take part in social welfare and establishment of new and maintain presently running Guest houses & Dharamshala for betterment of devotee and promote pilgrimage.

Organizational Structure of Badri-Kedar Mandir Samiti

Administration of Shrine
According the Act No. 30/1948 of Uttar Pradesh the administration of Kedarnath and Badrinath both Temples would be governed by Shri Badarinath Mandir &  Sri Kedarnath Mandir Samiti. The members of Samiti including public representative, Chairman, Members, Governments officials.

Temple Committee:
There are 17 members in Temple committee – As follow

  • Members selected by the Uttaranchal Legislative Assembly – 3
  • Member selected by the Zilla Parishad of Zilla Garhwal – 1
  • Member selected by the Zilla Parishad of Zilla Tehri – 1
  • Member selected by the Zilla Parishad of Zilla Chamoli – 1
  • Member selected by the Zilla Parishad of Zilla Uttarkashi – 1
  • Members nominated by the State Government – 10

President and Vice chairman of this committee from above members is nominated by the State Government.

The Present Committee
These personals are President & members of committee.
President – Shri Ganesh Godiyal (M.L.A)
Vice President – Smt. Madhu Bhatt

Shri Rakesh Dhyani, Shri Dayaram Purohit, Shri Gulab Singh Negi, Shri Harish Dimri, Smt. Amita Jina, Shri Keshav Prasad Thapliyal, Shri Rajendra Prasad Dabral, Smt. Sunita Shukla, Shri Chandra Kishore Maithani, Shri Bachan Singh Rawat.

Distribution of Powers
Bureaucracy implies the instruction issued by state government and Mandir Samiti.

  • Chief Executive Officer: Sh. B.D. Singh
  • Dy. Chief Executive Officer: Sh. Jagdamba Prasad Namboodri
  • OSD: Sh. Lokanand Sati
  • Executive Officer: Sh. Anil Sharma
  • OSD (PR): Sh. Ansuya Singh Negi
  • Account Officer: Sh. Sunil Tiwari
  • Temple Officer: Sh. Bhupendra Pd. Maithani
  • Publicity Officer: Sh. N.P. Jamloki

Religious/ Priest Structures of Badrinath Temple

  • Rawalji (Main Priest Badarinath): Shri Keshav Prasad Namboodari
  • Nayab Rawal Badarinath: Shri Ishwari Prasad Namboodri
  • Dharmadhikari Badarinath: Shri Bhuvan Chandra Uniyal (Acting)
  • Vedpathi Badarinath: Shri Satya Prasad Chamola, Shri Radha Krishna Thapliyal, Shri Kushla Nand Bahuguna.

Religious/ Priest Structures of Kedarnath Temple

  • Rawalji (Chief Priest Kedarnath ): Shri Bhima Shankar Ling Shivacharya
  • Acharya / Dharmadhikari, Kedarnath: Shri Umadutt Semwal
  • Vedpathi, Kedarnath: Shri Chandra Shekhar Semwal, Shri Omkar Shukla, Shri Yashodhar Maithani, Shri Ravindra Bhatt.

Gangotri Mandir Samiti

The name of temple committee of Gangotri shrine is Shri Panch Mandir Samiti, operated by members of Samiti (approx having 200 members). Temple Priests & government officials are the members of this committee. Having presidents, Vice present, chief- Secretary, secretary & members.
The head priest & chief secretary of Gangotrii shrine is Rawal Harish Semwal.

Doors Opening Timing

Door opening time of temple is-
In summer (April- Aug) – 6:15 am to 2:00 pm & 3:00 pm to 9:30 pm (summer)
In winter (sep-Nov) – 6:45 am to 2:00 pm & 3:00 to 7:00 pm.
Every year the temple closed on Yama Dwitiya & open after winter on the day of or Bhai Duj (Oct- Nov). The temple opens on the day of Akshay Tritiya (April-May).

Special Occasion Celebrated at Gangotri

Ganga Saptami – Celebrated in month of Vaishakh (April) it is the day when Ganga is said to have descended on earth from heaven. A special Shringar Pooja to Deity performed this day.
Ganga Dushehra –In month of Jyesth (May) this day celebrated as birth of river Ganga, as lord Shiva release a stream of Ganga(Bhagirathi) from his matted hair to Bhagirath. A procession is organized by temple committee move around the Mukhba village the other deity of village join the procession. A statue of Bhagirath lead the procession and the golden crown of Ganges symbolize the Deity in procession. A havana is also organized near riverside.
Janmashtami (Aug-Sep) – The birth day of Lord Krishna
Vijaya­dashmi (Oct) – The day when Lord Rama killed the Ravana.
Diwali (Nov) – The day when Lord Rama reach at Ayodhya.
Yama Dwitiya (oct-Nov) – As Bhaiya Duj

Yamunotri Mandir Samiti
There is no formal temple committee in Yamunotri so there is formal office of temple. It is operated by Panch Panda Samiti including about 200 pujari or priests in this Samiti. In winter when the temple is closed the deity transferred to village Kharsali (2 km from Janki Chatti) & worshipped over there in winter. A most beautiful and scenic Yamuna Valley also called Rawaai Ghaati, The flow of river Yamuna is very fast & wild among narrow dark mountain ranges. Lush green vegetation enhances the beauty of Yamuna Valley.

Doors Opening Timing
In season (April-May to Oct-Nov) 6 am to 8 pm. The doors of temple open on very auspicious day Akshay Tritiya (April -May) and closes on Yama Dwitiya, or Bhai Duj after two day the Diwali.

Worship /Aarti Timings – 6.30 am and 7.30 pm. A special Pooja and fair performed at temple on Janmashtami and Diwali.

Special Occasion Celebrated at Yamunotri

Janmashtami (Aug-Sep) – The birth day of Lord Krishna
Vijaya­dashmi (Oct)- The day when Lord Rama killed the Ravana.
Diwali (Nov)- The Day when Lord Rama reach at Ayodhya.
Yama Dwitiya (Oct-Nov)- As Bhaiya Duj

Worship /Aarti Timings
The worship and other temple activities started at 4 am after the Utthan (awakening) ceremony performed by Head Priest.

The brief chart of pooja activities as follow:
  • Utthan (awakening) arise timing of Goddess (By head priest) 4:00 AM
  • Shringar (adornment ceremony to deity) not open to public after 4 AM
  • Mangalaarti (not open to Public) at 6:00 AM
  • Darshan of Deity (for devotee) 6:00 to 9 AM
  • Rajbhog (to Deity- not open for public) 9:00 to 9:10 AM
  • Darshan / worship (open for devotee) 9:10 to 6:30 PM
  • Shringar (adornment ceremony to deity) not open to public – 6.30 pm to 6:40 PM
  • Darshan of Deity (for devotee) – 6:40 PM to 8:00 PM
  • Rajbhog .to Deity (not open to Public) – 8:00 PM to 8:05 PM
  • The Sandhya Aarti (In summer) – 7:45 PM
  • The Sandhya Aarti (In winter after Janmashtami in Aug-Sep) – 7:00 PM


Chardham happy customer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.